Your Thursday News Brief: May 11

By: Larissa Donovan, News Director. Above: Omar Sharif Beasley sentenced to 25 years in prison for leading a heroin trafficking ring. Retrieved photo. ST. PAUL— The U.S. Attorney’s office announced Wednesday that the leader of a heroin trafficking organization that funneled drugs into northern Minnesotan Indian reservations was sentenced to 25 years in prison. 39-year-old… Continue reading Your Thursday News Brief: May 11

NEWS 05/04/2017

May the Fourth be with you! –Larissa Donovan, News Director and resident nerd. The Minnesota House of Representatives has released their 2017 bonding proposal. According to a release from Governor Dayton’s office, the House proposal allots zero dollars to Bemidji State’s Hagg-Sauer replacement project, zero dollars to Red Lake school projects, 0 dollars to Northwest… Continue reading NEWS 05/04/2017

NEWS 05/02/2017

The Bemidji City Council approved park purchases and a construction bid award during Monday’s meeting. North Country Park along 30th street will soon have an outdoor learning classroom, with 12 backless wooden benches plus 2 handicap accessible benches, plus an outdoor pavilion. The City Parks department applied for an outdoor recreation grant for North Country… Continue reading NEWS 05/02/2017